Books

[recently read] | november 2016

I used to be really diligent about reviewing every book I read, and I’ve fallen out of the habit. In lieu of individual reviews, I want to share my top five books I read each month.

the-careful-undressing-of-loveThe Careful Undressing of Love by Corey Ann Haydu

This new YA novel comes out in January, and I can’t wait to hear what others have to say about it!

Everyone knows that the girls on Devonnaire Street are different—are cursed. Any boy they fall in love with is doomed to die.

This story has a thread of magical realism running through it told in a voice that is fierce and tender. A beautiful coming of age story about friendship, family, faith, and first love, this novel is perfect for fans of Places No One Knows by Brenna Yovanoff or Wink Poppy Midnight by April Genevieve Tucholke.

vinegar-girl by anne tyler

Vinegar Girl by Anne Tyler

This retelling of Shakespeare’s The Taming of the Shrew was a delightful palette cleanser of a book. The narrator is delightfully acerbic and the familiar plot moves along breezily.

In fact, it feels more like Jane Austen than Shakespeare, with it’s witty humor and comedy of manners. It certainly belongs on my list of modern books for fans of Pride and Prejudice.

I enjoyed this so much, I’m even considering going back and reading some of Tyler’s backlist—do you have a favorite?

 

commonwealth-ann-patchettCommonwealth by Ann Patchett

I listened to this on audio to review for Booklist, and while I enjoyed it, I think I would have preferred print.

The structure is what I was most impressed with—the story moves from past to present in a circular fashion, looping around the truth until it settles on what is not quite so shocking (or plausible) of a story as I had anticipated.

 

 

Currently Reading: Vampire in Love by Enrique Vila-Matas

Vampire in Love: Stories by Enrique Vila-Matas

Short stories are my preferred type of reading for the laundromat. I don’t get so engrossed in a novel that my wet clothes are pulled out of a washer and thrown on the floor by someone waiting for their turn, but the amusing stories pass the time quickly.

This collection is the first time many of the stories from renowned Spanish author  Vila-Matas have been translated. They are witty and weird and delightful.

 

 

a-bollywood-affairA Bollywood Affair by Sonali Dev

Despite a genuine effort, I haven’t been able to find much contemporary romance I enjoy. Dev’s novels are the one exception. I love them for the character development, the conflict, and the cultural elements.

While I didn’t enjoy this story as much as A Bollywood Bride (I am a sucker for childhood friends to lovers stories) it was still the perfect mix of sweet and sultry. I listened to it on audio, and the production and narration was excellent.

 

 

What have you been reading lately? Let me know in the comments! 

molly signature

PS: Find even more bookish goodness: my favorite picture books of 2016 at Shea Lennon or new books for fall at Book Riot.

You Might Also Like

  • It was great to see what books you got through. I’m inspired to pick up the books by Dev over Thanksgiving, or when I just need a quick read.

    Tanya Patrice
    Girlxoxo.com

  • I wanted to love Commonwealth, but I merely liked it. I was glad to have the print version because I did need to skim some.

  • The Careful Undressing of Love sounds great! Definitely something I would read! It’s so funny that you liked Vinegar Girl when I absolutely hated it. I couldn’t stand the characters or the slow pacing or that Anne Tyler recreated this Shakespeare story when she hates The Taming of the Shrew. I like that we can all read a book and have different responses to it! 🙂
    ~Sara
    Sincerely, Sara

    • Careful Undressing of Love is one of my favorite YA of 2017, and I’v already previewed quite a bit. Vinegar Girl was a fave of mine for the voice – but I can see how it wouldn’t work for everyone.